Matt Bretzfield Wins Mixed PLO Title for His Second Trophy

2022 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
Hollywood, Florida
Event 21
$400 Mixed Pot Limit Omaha (Re-Entry)
Entries:  126
Prize Pool:  $42,210
April 3-4, 2022

Matt Bretzfield, 2022 Poker Showdown Mixed PLO Champion

Event 21 was a fun tournament on the 2022 Poker Showdown schedule that had a game rotation between Pot Limit Omaha, Pot Limit Omaha 8, and Big O. It produced a tough field and Matt Bretzfield outlasted them all with an outright win for $11,475.

“I woke up today feeling like I was going to win,” Bretzfield said after the tournament.

The tournament drew 126 entries to create a prize pool worth $42,210 and the last 16 players made some money. Day 1 came to an end and 15 players advanced shortly after Sean Kennedy went out in 16th.

Bretzfield began Day 2 second in chips behind Oscar Castagna but he quickly jumped to the top of the counts as players began to drop out.

“I came in today really feeling it,” Bretzfield said. “I didn’t sleep much but I had a good feeling.”

Bretzfield was among the leaders when they formed the eight-handed final table and he continued to climb until he was heads-up with Castagna, his long-time friend.

“I’m literally the only person in this room who knows him,” Bretzfield laughed. “He’s from New York City and we’ve been friends for a long time.”

The heads-up match lasted for more than two levels but Castagna was never able to bounce until Bretzfield earned all the chips. Castagna took home $7,500 for his runner-up result while Bretzfield earned his second major Hollywood trophy and $11,475.

Afterward, Bretzfield dedicated the win to his father who he lost a few months ago.

“This win means more to me than any other I have had,” he said. “I have a bunch of wins but they were all chops.”

“My dad would always get mad at me and ask ‘Why did you chop? You’re the best.'” Bretzfield continued. “It was the highlight of his day watching me on these updates.”

“He was my best friend, this one is for you dad.”


PlaceNamePrize Amount
1Matt Bretzfield$11,475
2Oscar Castagna$7,500
3Aaron Kupin$4,540
4Brian Eisenberg$2,850
5Luis Rodriguez$2,265
6Ayed Shweihat$1,950
7Wally Maddah$1,670
8Eric Nyman$1,400
9Andrea Mastrogiovanni$1,400
10Carey Pickus$1,180
11Darin Utley$1,180
12Cody Wells$1,180
13Adam Farber$960
14Stephen Johnson$960
15Stephanie Chung$850
16Sean Kennedy$850

Event 21: Matt Bretzfield Defeats Oscar Castagna for the Win

$400 Mix Pot-Limit Omaha (Re-Entry)
Structure | Payouts
Level 26:  30,000/60,000 with a 60,000 ante

Matt Bretzfield

With Event 21 heads up between Oscar Castagna and Matt Bretzfield and playing Big O, Castagna open-shipped for 345,000 from his button and Bretzfield called with the bigger stack.

Bretzfield: AsTd9c2h2s
Castagna: Ac6d5d3s3h

Castagna had a slight lead until the dealer ran the board Kc7c7h6h9s to pair Bretzfield’s nine for nines and sevens. That gave the pot to Bretzfield along with the title. Castagna earned $7,500 while Bretzfield took home $11,475 and the Showdown trophy.

1st: Matt Bretzfield – $11,475
2nd: Oscar Castagna – $7,500

Tournament recap to come later.

Oscar Castagna

Event 21: Final Table Lineup

$400 Mix Pot-Limit Omaha (Re-Entry)
Structure | Payouts
Level 20:  8,000/16,000 with an 16,000 ante
Players Remaining:  8 of 126

With the elimination of Andrea Mastrogiovanni in ninth place, tournament staff paused the clock and the last eight players redrew seats at the final table.

Seat 1: Luis Rodriguez – 105,000 (7 bb)
Seat 2: Eric Nyman – 250,000 (16 bb)
Seat 3: Ayed Shweihat – 120,000 (8 bb)
Seat 4: Oscar Castagna – 672,000 (42 bb)
Seat 5: Brian Eisenberg – 155,000 (10 bb)
Seat 6: Wally Maddah – 47,000 (3 bb)
Seat 7: Aaron Kupin – 520,000 (33 bb)
Seat 8: Matt Bretzfield – 650,000 (41 bb)

1st: $11,475
2nd: $7,500
3rd: $4,540
4th: $2,850
5th: $2,265
6th: $1,950
7th: $1,670
8th: $1,670
9th: Andrea Mastrogiovanni – $1,400
10th: Carey Pickus – $1,180
11th: Darin Utley – $1,180
12th: Cody Wells – $1,180
13th: Adam Farber – $960
14th: Stephen Johnson – $960
15th: Stephanie Chung – $850
16th: Sean Kennedy – $850