Carlos Loving Takes Final Trophy Of LHPO In Heads-Up Deal

2017 Seminole Hard Rock Lucky Hearts Poker Open 
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino 
Hollywood, FL
Event 16
$360 No-Limit Hold’em Big Stack 
Entries: 87 
Prizepool: $26,100 
January 25, 2017 

Carlos Loving Wins Final Event of 2017 Lucky Hearts Poker Open

Carlos Loving closes out the 2017 Lucky Hearts Poker Open with a win in the $360 No-Limit Hold’em Big Stack event.

After besting a field of 87 entries, Loving made a heads-up deal with Claudemir  Osorio. Loving earns $9,135 and takes credit for the win, while Osorio earns $4,959 for his portion of the deal.

“It feels great,” said Loving. “I love trophies. I have probably four of them already so this will look great on my mantle.”

After playing close to a full slate of events this entire series, the win is a series saver of sorts for the Tampa native.

“It will help me recover some of of my losses from the other tournaments,” said Loving. “I only cashed one other tournament before this, so this helps.”

Loving’s last win at the Hollywood Hard Rock came last April when he took down the $350 No-Limit Hold’em Black Chip Bounty for $8,120.

The 39-year-old poker dealer and engineer has a laundry list of poker accomplishments, but he saw something in this tournament that he had never seen before.

“One dealer in just 30 minutes dealt aces versus kings three times and aces five times total,” said Loving. “I had aces one of the times. I just won the blinds and antes, but the other people who had aces versus kings, they doubled up every time.”

Loving defeated a final table full of Florida regulars and local grinders. Dylan Drazen, who won the last even of the 2016 Rock n’ Roll Poker Open, Nancy Thomas, Marcus Stein, and Osorio are all regulars in the Florida poker scene.

Drazen finished seventh, Thomas hit the rail in sixth, Stein finished fourth, and Osorio was the runner-up in the deal.

Here is a look at the results:

1st: Carlos Loving – $9,135
2nd: Claudemir Osorio – $4,959
3rd: Marc Sacheli – $3,132
4th: Marcus Stein – $2,349
5th: Anthony Barbera – $1,827
6th: Nancy Thomas – $1,566
7th: Dylan Drazen – $1,305
8th: Frederico Dornelas Camara – $1,044
9th: Jay Klitzner – $783