Event 5: William Black Cruises to Fast Title

2018 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino

Hollywood, FL
Event 5
$300 Deep Stack Turbo NLH (Re-Entry)
Entries: 187
Prize Pool: $47,685
April 8, 2018

William Black, Event 5 Champion

The first turbo tournament on the 2018 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown schedule played out true to its name. Fast. The $300 buy-in Deep Stack Turbo Event 5 drew 187 entries and William Black dominated the final table to win the title after a three-way deal.

“As it got down to these last couple tables you were dealing with nothing but top-notch players,” Black commented about his win. “It came down to patience and a little bit of luck.”

Black began the final table with more than double the amount of chips than that of the second place player and he never slipped up. The final table also featured poker media guru Kevin “Kevmath” Mathers, John Magnetta with three wins this year so far, and SHRP regular Craig Witz.

But none could get past Black’s big stack as players dropped at a rapid pace. There was some talk of a chop when they were five-handed before Joseph Montervino and Christopher Collins hit the payout desk. The last three players came to an agreement to divide up the remaining prize pool with Black earning $10,500 plus the title. Mathers and Gil Nachum split the rest of the money in half with Mathers officially taking the second spot.

Black is a contractor from Texas and came to the Sunshine State to play the Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown.

“I actually came down here specifically for the series,” Black said. “and we did a little skydiving before.”

Congratulations to Black and everyone who took home some money from the Sunday afternoon turbo.

Event 5 results:

1st:  William Black Р$10,500 + Trophy *
2nd: Kevin Mathers – $7,358 *
3rd: Gil Nachum – $7,358 *
4th: Christopher Collins – $2,973
5th: Joseph Montervino – $2,296
6th: John Magnetta – $1,903
7th: Joseph Duchman – $1,621
8th: Craig Witz – $1,414
9th: Alexander Dvorsky – $1,213
10th: John Dermody – $1,044
11th: John Gorsuch – $1,044
12th: Edgardo Rosario – $1,044
13th: Alexander Quinones – $882
14th: Jay Klitzner – $882
15th: Zachary VanKeuren – $882
16th: David Shecter – $732
17th: Franklin Lacava – $732
18th: Jorge Gomez – $732
19th: George Miro – $584
20th: Wan Chi Liam – $584
21st: Michael Corbett – $584
22nd: Charles Bragg Jr – $441
23rd: Brian O’Keefe – $441
24th: Andrew Gordon – $441
* – denotes results of a three-way deal

Kevin “Kevmath” Mathers
Gil Nachum