ICYMI: Michael Newman and David Prociak Add Another Trophy

TD Tony Burns and Event 1 Champion Michael Newman
TD Tony Burns and Event 1 Champion Michael Newman

Tuesday was a big day in the Hard Rock Event Center with a lot of money on the line and two more trophies.

The Ultimate Re-Entry event returned for an extra day with 11 players remaining and 2017 Rock ‘N’ Roll Poker Open Champion Michael Newman leading. He declared his intention to win another trophy at the start of the day and backed it up

After a deep, talented final table, Newman was part of a three-way deal to divide up the remaining prize pool. He was still holding the chip lead and earned his fifth SHRP major series tournament win along with $181,025.

Ultimate Re-Entry final table results:

1st:  Michael Newman*  –  $181,025 + LHPO trophy
2nd:  Willie Wiggins  –  $176,120
3rd:  Scott Robbins  –  $130,235
4th:  Jeffrey Colpitts  –  $63,359
5th:  Richard Carr  –  $45,895
6th:  Michael Duek  –  $34,929
7th:  Angel Bracho  –  $26,806
8th:  Devond Marshall  –  $19,495
9th:  Jason Young*  –  $13,809
10th:  Perry Shiao  –  $8,935

Complete Ultimate Re-Entry results
Ultimate Re-Entry tournament recap

David Prociak
David Prociak

Newman wasn’t the only person picking up another title. David Prociak already owned four major SHRP trophies, including two from last year’s Lucky Hearts Poker Open, and he added another early early this morning.

But this is his first title in No Limit Hold’em.

The WSOP bracelet winner and former Seminole Hard Rock Poker Player of the Year won the $570 Six-Max NLH tournament over a tough final table that included Richard Leger, Uri Kadosh, and three-time WSOP bracelet winner Brian Hastings.

The tournament drew 338 entries to easily best its $100,000 and the prize pool grew to $169,000. Prociak earned $33,035 for the title along with an addition to his trophy cabinet.

Event 9 final table results:

1st:  David Prociak  –  $33,035 + LHPO trophy
2nd:  Saber Hamrouni  –  $22,865
3rd:  Brian Hastings  –  $16,085
4th:  Barry Weprin  –  $11,510
5th:  Raffaello Locatelli  –  $8,380
6th:  Uri Kadosh  –  $6,210
7th:  Richard Leger  –  $4,685

Complete Event 9 results
Event 9 tournament recap

All images courtesy of Eric Harkins and IMPDI

Brian Hastings
Brian Hastings
David Prociak
David Prociak
Uri Kadosh
Uri Kadosh
Richard Leger
Richard Leger
Event 9 - Final Table
Event 9 – Final Table

Chips and Plaques

Michael Newman
Michael Newman