Nohad “Nu” Teliani Wins Her Second Career SHR Trophy in Six-Max NLHE

2022 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
Hollywood, Florida
Event 10
$400 Six-Max No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
$50,000 Guaranteed
Entries:  151
Prize Pool:  $50,585
March 29, 2022

Nohad Teliani
Event 10 Champion Nohad Teliani

On Tuesday night, Nohad “Nu” Teliani won her second career trophy here at Seminole Hard Rock Hollywood by winning Event #10 ($400 Six-Max No Limit Hold’em) in a four-way deal, earning $9,986.

“I got stacked on my first hand on my first bullet,” said Teliani. “I had a set of fives against a set of queens.” Coincidentally, the player who knocked her out on that first bullet was Aaron Thivyanathan, who made it all the way to the end to be a part of that four-way deal, finishing third.

But Teliani re-entered, and made the most of that second bullet, surviving the Money Bubble (the final 19 got paid) and making it to the final table with an above-average chip stack.

“It was a good final table, with good energy,” said Teliani. “Matt [Waxman] was really good. Good to watch and tough to play against. He was challenging.”

The key hand came with five players remaining, when Waxman — a WPT Champion and a WSOP Bracelet winner — four-bet shoved AhKh into Teliani’s 9s9c. The pocket nines held up for Teliani, and Waxman was eliminated in fifth place.

“That was really unlucky,” said Teliani. “His ace-king suited against my pocket nines. That was really the turning point.”

Shortly after Waxman’s elimination, the final four players agreed to an ICM chop to end the tournament. As chipleader, Teliani was declared the winner, earning the title, the trophy, and the largest cut of the prizepool.

Teliani loves the six-max format, calling it her second favorite after PLO.

“You can play a little more aggressive,” said Teliani. “You can call a little bit lighter and play your position. You get to play more hands.”

Final Results:

1Nohad Teliani$9,986*
2Kevin Johnson$8,939*
3Aaron Thivyanathan$6,125*
4Nicholas Carballo$5,800*
5Matthew Waxman$2,455
6Michael Jagroo$2,025
7Michael Cavanaugh$1,670
8Athanasios Polychronopoulos$1,670
9Brett Streicher$1,400
10Jairo Velasquez$1,400
11Richard Katz$1,215
12Dolphus Powers$1,215
13Tarun Gulati$1,055
14Yisroel Pruss$1,055
15James Salmon$960
16Daphne Diaz$960
17Raminder Singh$885
18Steve Karp$885
19Duff Charette$885

* Indicates the results of a four-way chop.