Derrick Simon Scores an Entry into SHRPO Championship in $150 No-Limit Hold’em Victory

2018 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open 
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino 
Hollywood, Florida
Event #10
$150 No-Limit Hold’em Re-Entry
$20,000 Guarantee

Entries: 529
Prize Pool: $63,480 
August 6, 2018 

Derrick Simon wins event #10

Derrick Simon is one of the first people to have a spot in the 2018 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open $5,250 no-limit hold’em championship event.

The 58-year-old used car salesman earned a spot in the event by taking down the $150 no-limit hold’em. He bested a field of 529 entries and took the lion’s share of a five-way chop.

“It feels so good,” said the native Jamaican. “I just do this for fun. Just for fun. That’s it. I love it.”

In an ICM deal, Simon walked away with $8,445, the trophy and a seat into the SHRPO Championship. Simon won his way into the event from a $150 buy-in, but he’s no stranger to playing for higher stakes.

“I played the $10 million event and I cashed,” said Simon, referencing his participation in the first-ever SHRPO Championship. “I played the next year and I won the $1,600 straight out. And in the million dollar [guarantee], the $570, I got knocked out in fourth. So, I’ve been doing good.”

Simon came into the final table near the top of the chip counts, just behind Jeffrey Scott, who ended up finishing third.

In the first few levels, Simon was able to tread water and keep his stack right where he started. Then he knocked out Juan Martinez in seventh and  Brandon Kemp in sixth place to take a sizable chip lead over the rest of the field.

After Kemp was eliminated, the talks of a deal began with Simon and Merisier atop the counts

Michael Merisier took second, while Dan Avitsur and Josh Phillips, were credited with a fourth and fifth-place finish, respectively.

The 529-entry field more than tripled the $20,000 guaranteed prize pool, generating one of $63,480. The top 67 spots finished in the money.

Final Table Results:

1st: Derrick Simon – $8,445*
2nd: Michael Merisier – $7,714*
3rd: Jeffrey Scott – $5,851*
4th: Dan Avitsur – $5,697*
5th: Josh Phillips – $5,537*
6th: Brandon Kemp – $2,461
7th: Juan Martinez – $2,047
8th: Aish Ayyash – $1,635
9th: Joel Lumpkins – $1,226
10th: Alex Michaels – $1,019

*Indicates an adjusted payout to reflect a deal

Event 10: Derrick Simon Takes the Trophy in Five-Way Chop

$150 No-Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
Structure | Payouts
Level 26: 40,000/80,000 with a 10,000 ante
Players Remaining: 5 of 529

Derrick Simon

Shortly after Brandon Kemp busted in sixth place, the final five players began negotiation a deal.

They eventually came to an agreement and the final five players chopped up the remaining prize pool. Since Derrick Simon held the chip lead when the deal was made, he took credit for the win and will receive the trophy and the $5,250 SHRPO Championship seat.

Michael Merisier, Jeffrey Scott, Josh Phillips and Dan Avitsur were the other four players that took part in the chop.

A recap with details of the deal will be posted later tonight.

Dan Avitsur
Josh Phillips
Jeffrey Scott
Michael Merisier

Event 10: Brandon Kemp – 6th Place ($2,461)

$150 No-Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
Structure | Payouts
Level 26: 40,000/80,000 with a 10,000 ante
Players Remaining: 5 of 529

Brandon Kemp

On a flop of Kh4d6h, Brandon Kemp checked from the big blind and Derrick Simon bet. Kemp check-raised all in for about 500,000 and Simon called.

Kemp showed As4h and needed to fade a lot of cards against Simon’s Th9h.

The turn was the 2d, keeping Kemp in the lead, but the river was the 9s. Simon missed his flush draw, but made a bigger pair on the river to win the pot and eliminate Kemp in sixth place for $2,461.

Derrick Simon – 2,780,000
Brandon Kemp – Eliminated 

Event 10: Juan Martinez – 7th Place ($2,047)

$150 No-Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
Structure | Payouts
Level 26: 40,000/80,000 with a 10,000 ante
Players Remaining: 6 of 529

Juan Martinez

Juan Martinez moved all in from the cutoff for 590,000 and Derrick Simon called out of the big blind.

Martinez showed Ac2d and was in trouble against Simon’s AdJd.

The board ran out Kc8s3s9sJc and Martinez couldn’t hit a three-outer to bust in seventh place for $2,047.

Derrick Simon – 1,600,000
Juan Martinez – Eliminated 

Event 10: Aish Ayyash – 8th Place ($1,635)

$150 No-Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
Structure | Payouts
Level 25: 30,000/60,000 with a 10,000 ante
Players Remaining: 7 of 529

Aish Ayyash

Aish Ayyash got all in preflop for about 500,000 against Josh Phillips. Phillips tabled AcAh and was in great shape against Ayyash’s AsJh.

The flop was Td9s4c, leaving Ayyash dead to runners. He hit one of them on the turn when the Kc came, giving Ayyash a gutshot to the nuts, but the 6s came on the river and Ayyash busted in eighth place for $1,635.

Josh Phillips – 1,300,000
Aish Ayyash – Eliminated