Derrick Simon Scores an Entry into SHRPO Championship in $150 No-Limit Hold’em Victory

2018 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open 
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino 
Hollywood, Florida
Event #10
$150 No-Limit Hold’em Re-Entry
$20,000 Guarantee

Entries: 529
Prize Pool: $63,480 
August 6, 2018 

Derrick Simon wins event #10

Derrick Simon is one of the first people to have a spot in the 2018 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open $5,250 no-limit hold’em championship event.

The 58-year-old used car salesman earned a spot in the event by taking down the $150 no-limit hold’em. He bested a field of 529 entries and took the lion’s share of a five-way chop.

“It feels so good,” said the native Jamaican. “I just do this for fun. Just for fun. That’s it. I love it.”

In an ICM deal, Simon walked away with $8,445, the trophy and a seat into the SHRPO Championship. Simon won his way into the event from a $150 buy-in, but he’s no stranger to playing for higher stakes.

“I played the $10 million event and I cashed,” said Simon, referencing his participation in the first-ever SHRPO Championship. “I played the next year and I won the $1,600 straight out. And in the million dollar [guarantee], the $570, I got knocked out in fourth. So, I’ve been doing good.”

Simon came into the final table near the top of the chip counts, just behind Jeffrey Scott, who ended up finishing third.

In the first few levels, Simon was able to tread water and keep his stack right where he started. Then he knocked out Juan Martinez in seventh and  Brandon Kemp in sixth place to take a sizable chip lead over the rest of the field.

After Kemp was eliminated, the talks of a deal began with Simon and Merisier atop the counts

Michael Merisier took second, while Dan Avitsur and Josh Phillips, were credited with a fourth and fifth-place finish, respectively.

The 529-entry field more than tripled the $20,000 guaranteed prize pool, generating one of $63,480. The top 67 spots finished in the money.

Final Table Results:

1st: Derrick Simon – $8,445*
2nd: Michael Merisier – $7,714*
3rd: Jeffrey Scott – $5,851*
4th: Dan Avitsur – $5,697*
5th: Josh Phillips – $5,537*
6th: Brandon Kemp – $2,461
7th: Juan Martinez – $2,047
8th: Aish Ayyash – $1,635
9th: Joel Lumpkins – $1,226
10th: Alex Michaels – $1,019

*Indicates an adjusted payout to reflect a deal