Event 1: Igor Merda Eliminated by John Simon

$570 Deep Stack No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
$1,000,000 Guaranteed | Payouts
Level 27: 25,000/50,000 with a 5,000 ante
Players Remaining: 39 of 3,173

John Simon

Igor Merda moved all in from UTG for 780,000,  John Simon moved all in on top to get it to heads up. Merda turned over Ad6c and needed to get lucky against Simon’s AsKc.

The board ran out Jd3s10d7c3d and Simon’s king kicked held up, eliminating Merda in 41st place.

John Simon  –  1,200,000
Igor Merda  –  Eliminated in 41st place ($4,363)

Event 1: Thomas Edwards Eliminated in Three-Way All In

$570 Deep Stack No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
$1,000,000 Guaranteed | Payouts
Level 25: 15,000/30,000/5,000 ante
Players Remaining: 66 of 3,173

Bill Reilly

Thomas Edwards went all in preflop from the big blind, Bill Reilly called from UTG+1, and Ana Freitas called from late position. The flop came 7sQc2h  Reiley checked, Freitas put Reilly all in, and Reilly called.

Bill Reilly:  9d9s
Ana Freitas:  7d7h (set of sevens)
Thomas Edwards:  JhJs

Reilly screams out “Nine me!” and sure enough the 9h came on the turn. A meaningless As hit the river, eliminating Edwards in 66th place and giving Reilly his double through Freitas. Reilly proclaimed “Let’s get it rocking in here!”

Bill Reilly  –  800,000
Ana Freitas  –  3,700,000
Thomas Edwards:  Eliminated in 66th place ($3,094)

Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Hollywood, Fla. Announces the 2017 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open Held Aug. 3 to Aug. 15

“The Big 4” Four-Tournament Finale Carrying a Combined $6.5 Million in Guaranteed Prize Pools Will Be Televised and Live Streamed in Partnership with Poker Night in America

 HOLLYWOOD, Fla (June 21, 2017) – The Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open (SHRPO) will celebrate its fifth season of highly-anticipated, top tournament play at South Florida’s iconic entertainment destination Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Hollywood, Fla., since the historic introduction in 2013. SHRPO will take place Thursday, Aug. 3 to Tuesday, Aug. 15, 2017 featuring its signature four-tournament finale, The Big 4, now returning for the third year. The SHRPO Championship $5,250 (Single RE) will carry a $3 million guarantee. Filmed by Poker Night in America and televised on CBS Sports Network, The Big 4 will be played at Hard Rock Live on Tuesday, Aug.15. All of the synchronized poker action will be live streamed online and available at SHRPO.com.

The Big 4 feature staggered structures designed to cascade toward their completions, with the final four tables playing out alongside each other in front of a live audience. Doubling-up once again to emcee on The Big 4 are professional poker player and TV personality Maria Ho and national network television host and poker commentator Ali Nejad.

Carrying combined prize pools of $6.5 million, The Big 4 includes premium events:

  • $1,100, NLH (Re-Entry) $500,000 guarantee starts at 11 a.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 9
  • $5,250 SHRPO Championship NLH (Single Re-Entry) $3 million guarantee starts at 11 a.m. on Friday, Aug. 11
  • $2,650, NLH (Freeze-Out) $1 million guarantee starts on at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Aug. 13
  • $25,500 High Roller NLH (Re-Entry) $2 million guarantee starts at noon on Monday, Aug. 14.

Other highlight events surrounding The Big 4 include a new to the series $50,000 buy-in $1 million guarantee Super High Roller (Aug. 8), a $10,000 buy-in $500,000 guarantee (Aug. 15), $570 buy-in $1 million guarantee series opener (Aug. 3) and $300 buy-in Charity Series of Poker presenting The Jeff Conine Celebrity Poker Classic (Aug. 7).

“The Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open is the crown jewel of our poker series here at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Hollywood,” said Tournament Director Tony Burns. “We’re excited to once again welcome the poker world to South Florida and are really looking forward to the return of The Big 4 along with the addition of a $50,000 buy-in, $1 million guarantee Super High Roller and a $10,000 buy-in, $500,000 guarantee one-day event.”

Last year’s tournaments boasted nearly $14 million in prize pools bordering on 17,000 entries. Jason Koon (Weston, W.V.) won the $5,250 buy-in SHRPO Championship taking home the top prize of $1 million while Marvin Rettenmaier (Stuttgart, Germany) won the $25,500 High Roller for $787,497. Bradley Snider (Plantation, Fla) won the $2,650 Freeze-Out for $246,400, and Ruslan Dykshteyn (Hollywood, Fla.) won the $1,100 Re-Entry for $151,100.

This year, Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino and the Charity Series of Poker (CSOP) will present The Jeff Conine Celebrity Poker Classic benefiting the Joe DiMaggio Children’s Hospital Foundation taking place on Monday, Aug. 7. The charity event kicks off with an exclusive player party taking place prior to the tournament’s 7 p.m. start time. Guests will enjoy live music, cocktails, hors d’ oeuvres and a chance to win more than $30,000 in cash and prizes including a $5,250 seat in the SHRPO $3 Million Guarantee Championship. Former major league baseball player Jeff Conine will be in attendance at the event which will play in the tournament room.

The 2017 SHRPO Big 4 broadcast will air on Season 6 of Poker Night in America on CBS Sports Network.

 On-site registration for the $3 million Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open is open. For more information and to view the series schedule, please visit SHRPO.com. Follow us on Twitter at @SHRPO and @SHRThePokerRoom, #SHRPO.

 Media Contact:

Yaffa Mizrachi, Director of Public Relations

E: Yaffa.Mizrachi@SeminoleHardRock.com

C: 954-895-6480, O: 954-327-7504