Event 1 Recap

2015 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open
$350 Deep Stack No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
$500,000 Guaranteed Prize Pool

July 30 – August 3, 2015

Total Entries:  2,906
Total Prize Pool:  $871,800

Jorge Gomez, Event 1 Champion
Jorge Gomez, Event 1 Champion


Event 1 was such a big success that it took an extra day of action to determine a winner. After 15 players returned for Day 3, it was local grinder Jorge Gomez capturing his first major Seminole Hard Rock Poker title along with $85,832 after the final table made a deal.

The first event of the 2015 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open drew 2,906 entrants over the six starting flights and it attracted plenty of top names from South Florida and around the world.  Just a few of those included Sheddy Siddiqui, Stewart Newman, Jessica Dawley, and Stuart Paterson along with WSOP bracelet winner Jason Young, Jacqueline Scott, and Marsha Wolak.

Those six flights saw a total 574 players returning for Day 2 where they hit the money bubble more than three hours into play with 250 getting paid out of the $871,800 prize pool. Once they were in the money, it was a steady stream of players to the payout desk to grab their money.

The second day wasn’t enough to whittle the field down to a winner and 15 returned for some bonus poker. Dustin Murphy returned with a huge chip lead but the blinds were climbing. Jonathan Ulrich quickly exited the final table followed by Tuyen Le.

Players at that point decided the risk was too great, with blinds at 125,000/250,000/25 Ante and going up, to gamble further and they made the uncommon move to chop of the remaining $477,775 in prize money between the last seven players.

The calculations were based on chip counts and Jorge Gomez was the top man at that point, not much further ahead than Murphy but it was good enough for the top prize, trophy, and custom-framed winner photo from IMPDI.

“This is my home casino,” Gomez said, “This is where I play and all the tournaments.”

Congratulations to Gomez on his title and great start to the series.

Final Table Results:

1st: Jorge Gomez (Miami, FL) $85,832
2nd: Dustin Murphy (Arcadia, FL) $75,533
3rd: Dan Iman (Los Angeles, CA) $70,934
4th: Marc Sacheli (Miami Beach, FL) $64,529
5th: Robert Aron (Boca Raton, FL) $62,995
6th: Viorel Chelariu (Brasov, RO) $61,910
7th: Michael Morton (Davie, FL) $56,042
8th: Tuyen Le (Sunrise, FL) $18,308
9th: Jonathan Ulrich (Delray Beach, FL) $13,077