Event 12 Recap

2015 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open
$1,650 Purple Chip Bounty No Limit Hold’em (Single Re-Entry)
$150,000 Guaranteed Prize Pool

August 9 – 10, 2015

Total Entries:  129
Total Prize Pool:  $129,000

Ryan Van Sanford, Event 12 Champion
Ryan Van Sanford, Event 12 Champion


Event 12 had the biggest buy-in at this point in the Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open and it brought out some of the best players in town. Matt Stout, Sheddy SiddiquiDarryll Fish, Tim Burt, and Ryan Tepen. In the end it was former WPT champion Ryan Van Sanford taking the title for $26,692 after a four-way final table deal.

That final table was a gathering from around the country and even one from across the Atlantic. Five different states were represented (Florida, New Jersey, Colorado, Texas, and Virginia) along with Marc MacDonnell from Dublin, Ireland.

Qasem Jamhour went out in 9th soon after they switched up to hour-long levels followed by Dan Buzgon making his second big final table of the series. MacDonnell, Scott Zakheim, and John Gorsuch followed them out the door to set up a long four-way battle.

Van Sanford had more than half of the chips in play for much of the time before he doubled up two of his competitors to lose a third of his stack. His lead wasn’t as dominant and they returned after the Level 19 break to work out a quick deal to chop up the remaining money between the final four.

Van Sanford still had the most chips at the time and was declared the winner. The $26,692 money he received was his third biggest career cash which includes a WPT title in 2014.

Final Table Results:

1st: Ryan Van Sanford (Colorado Springs, CO) – $26,692
2nd: Erik Christensen (Miami, FL) – $21,262
3rd: Enrique Roman (Hollywood, FL) – $19,507
4th: Trevor Doughty (Seguin, TX) – $15,097
5th: John Gorsuch (Woodbridge, VA) $7,740
6th: Scott Zakheim (Davie, FL) $6,450
7th: Dan Buzgon (Marlton, NJ) $5,160
8th: Marc MacDonnell (Dublin, IE) $3,870
9th: Qasem Jamhour (Miami, FL) $2,903