Event 23 Recap

2015 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open
$1,100 No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
$500,000 Guaranteed Prize Pool

August 17-18, 2015

Total Entries:  794
Total Prize Pool: $794,000

Event 23 Champion David Eldridge
Event 23 Champion
David Eldridge

David Eldridge came into this afternoon’s showdown in Hard Rock Live as the chip leader in this tournament.  He continued to stay on a roll for most of the final table and then hung on to claim the Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open Event 23 championship.

The final table in Hard Rock Live started off with two quick exits as Gavin O’Rourke put away Mohammed “Sheddy” Siddiqui in 9th and Jamie Lewin in 8th.  But then David Eldridge started to let his presence be known.

Eldridge used his chip advantage and managed to take out the next four players in the tournament.  Eldridge was ahead in the first three eliminations taking out Viet Vo in 7th place, Evan Panesis in 6th place and Anthony Nardi in 5th.  Eldridge then hit a flop with QdJc and called down Dan Ikashi’s all-in with Ac5c holding the nut flush draw.  Iskashi missed sending him out in 4th place and we were down to three with Eldridge well in control.

But then this event got very interesting.  Both Gavin O’Rourke and Rubin Ybarra doubled up through Eldridge.  Ybarra continued to pound away on both of his opponents and eventually found himself out in front.  Ybarra continued his outstanding play and after taking out O’Rourke found himself with a two million chip lead over Eldridge as they went into heads-up play.

Ybarra had a shot to win the tournament as he held Ah8s against Eldridge’s Kh5c but Eldridge turned a five to win the hand and flipped things around on Ybarra in just one hand. On the final hand, Ybarra found himself ahead again with AdQs against Eldridge’s AcJs. But Eldridge hit a club flush on the river and completed his comeback to wrap up the Event 23 title.

Congratulations to our Event 23 Champion – David Eldridge!

1st: David Eldridge (Gibosnia, PA) – $146,100
2nd: Rubin Ybarra (Park Ridge, IL) – $84,700
3rd: Gavin O’Rourke (Portlaosie, Ireland) – $51,100
4th: Dan Ikashi (Miami, FL) – $43,800
5th: Anthony Nardi (Madison, WI) – $36,500
6th: Evan Panesis (St. Petersburg, FL) – $29,200
7th: Viet Vo (Pearland, TX) – $21,900
8th: Jamie Lewin (Cibralda) – $18,300
9th: Mohammed Siddiqui (Pembroke Pines, FL) – $14,050