Event 3 Recap

2015 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open
$250 Deep Stack Turbo No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)

August 2, 2015

Total Entries:  221
Total Prize Pool:  $46,410

Event 3 Champion Raminder Singh
Event 3 Champion
Raminder Singh


This turbo lived up to its billing with fast-paced action, rapid-fire decisions and eliminations taking place in the blink of an eye.  And when the dust settled, Raminder Singh emerged as the Event 3 Champion.

With the tournament kicking off at noon, 25 levels had passed by 7:00 PM when we’d reached our final table.  And in a matter of fifteen minutes after that Bob Farmer was out in 10th, Dave Maddox was gone in 9th and Santana Noronha exited in 8th place.  Nemy Alegado had done most of the damage and was threatening to pull away from the pack.

But Raminder Singh had other ideas.  After being in danger of being knocked out himself, Singh began to chip back up.  He doubled up with tens and then hit kings to knock out David Felger in 7th.  The tens were good to him again as he claimed another victim taking out Joe Yselonia in 6th.

With the final table down to five players and everyone at twenty big blinds or less, the potential volatility was too much and the remaining players came to an agreement to end Event 3.  Raminder Singh held the chip edge over Nemy Alegado, Tim Frazin, Jon Ounjian and Philip Consolo giving him the title.

Singh reflected back on how he made it through such a wild tournament and his victory.  “It’s a turbo and ace-king vs. tens is never fun and tens is my nemesis hand.   I just stayed aggressive, three-betting at the right time and keeping an eye on the ball.  I wasn’t on the phone, I wasn’t talking to people.  I was just focusing on each and every player, their body language and how they were betting.  Three-betting in a turbo tournament means a lot of chips so that kept my chip count up.  This is my first championship at Hard Rock and looking forward to the big one.  Hopefully I’ll do well in that one.”

He also had very kinds words for the Seminole Hard Rock-Hollywood team.  “They’re all terrific.  This morning we were talking about how great and warm it is for poker here like in Las Vegas.  This has definitely exceeded my expectations and I know my colleagues and friends love coming here too.  Great job by the staff here and everyone else,”

Congratulations to our Event 3 Champion – Raminder Singh!

Final Table Results:
1st: Raminder Singh (Delray Beach, FL) – $6,716
2nd: Nemy Alegado (Rolling Meadows, IL) – $6,233
3rd: Tim Frazin (Dallas, TX) – $6,233
4th: Jon Ounjian (Boca Raton, FL) – $6,233
5th: Philip Consolo (Adventure, FL) – $6,002
6th: Joe Yselonia (Coral Springs, FL) – $2,321
7th: David Felger (Lantana, FL) – $1,856
8th: Santana Noronha (Davie, FL) – $1,392
9th: Dave Maddox (Boynton Beach, FL) – $928
10th: Bob Farmer (Bal Harbour, FL) – $603

Event 3: Raminder Singh Wins Championship ($6,716) In Five-Way Chop

$250 Deep Stack Turbo No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
Level 28: 30,000/60,000/10,000 Ante

After the elimination of Joe Yselonia, the final five players decided that it was time to call a halt the festivities and agreed to a five-way deal.  After the chips were counted, Raminder Singh had the biggest stack of the group and was crowned the Event 3 Champion winning $6,716.

Per the chip counts, Nemy Alegado finishes in 2nd place followed by Tim Frazin in 3rd and Jon Ounjian finishes in 4th all winning $6,233.  Philip Consolo winds up in 5th taking home $6,002.

Congratulations to our Event 3 Champion – Raminder Singh!

Raminder Singh ($6,716)
Raminder Singh ($6,716)
Nemy Alegado - 2nd Place ($6,233)
Nemy Alegado – 2nd Place ($6,233)
Tim Frazin - 3rd Place ($6,233)
Tim Frazin – 3rd Place ($6,233)
Jon Ounjin - 4th Place ($6,233)
Jon Ounjian – 4th Place ($6,233)
Philip Consolo - 5th Place ($6,002)
Philip Consolo – 5th Place ($6,002)

Event 3: Joe Yselonia Eliminated In 6th Place ($2,321)

$250 Deep Stack Turbo No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
Level 27: 25,000/50,000/5,000 Ante

The action isn’t stopping here in Event 3 as we’ve lost another player.

Raminder Singh continues his comeback as his TcTh had Joe Yselonia’s 4c4h in trouble. The tens held up on the 7d5hKs8d3c board knocking out Yselonia.

Joe Yselonia finishes in 6th place for $2,321.

Joe Yselonia - 6th Place ($2,321)
Joe Yselonia – 6th Place ($2,321)

Event 3: David Felger Eliminated In 7th Place ($1,856)

$250 Deep Stack Turbo No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
Level 27: 25,000/50,000/5,000 Ante

David Felger was looking for some action with a big hand but Raminder Singh had him outdone.

Felger was all-in with AhKs but ran in Singh’s KdKh.  Raminder hit a set right off the bat on the 2hKc8h flop and got no help the rest of the way.

David Felger finishes in 7th place for $1,856.

David Felger - 7th Place ($1,856)
David Felger – 7th Place ($1,856)

Event 3: Santana Noronha Eliminated In 8th Place ($1,392)

$250 Deep Stack Turbo No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
Level 25: 15,000/30,000/5,000 Ante

The final table in Event 3 keeps rolling on as another player has fallen.  Santana Noronha took a shot with AdQc but ran into Nemy Alegado with AcKs.

The board ran out 4cJhJd5d8c giving Alegado another elimination and ending Noronha’s tournament.

Santana Noronha finishes in 8th place for $1,392.

Santana Noronha - 8th Place ($1,392)
Santana Noronha – 8th Place ($1,392)

Event 3: Final Table

$250 Deep Stack Turbo No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
Level 25: 15,000/30,000/5,000 Ante

This turbo tournament is living up to its name as we’ve reached the final table in Event 3.  Here is the new table draw for our remaining ten players:

Seat 1: Santana Noronha
Seat 2: Jon Ounjin
Seat 3: Nemy Alegado
Seat 4: Raminder Singh
Seat 5: Bob Farmer
Seat 6: Dave Maddox
Seat 7: Tim Frazin
Seat 8: David Felger
Seat 9: Philip Consolo
Seat 10: Joe Yselonia

Event 3: Turbo Checkup

$250 Deep Stack Turbo No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
Level 16: 2,000/4,000/500 Ante

While Event 1 was playing down into the money, the big Turbo event going in the opposite corner drew a nice crowd. Registration closed with 221 entrants in the field to top the 193 from a year before.

A few who joined late Jacqueline Scott, Errol Massey, and Raminder Singh along with Jessica Dawley and Robert Campbell after their Event 1 eliminations.

Payouts and updates coming shortly.