WPTDeepStacks: Scott Baumstein Wins Title for $220,238

2018 Lucky Hearts Poker Open
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino 
Hollywood, Florida
$1,100 WPTDeepStacks No Limit Hold’em
$1,000,000 Guarantee

Entries: 1,366
Prize Pool: $1,325,020
January 11-16, 2018

Scott Baumstein, WPTDeepStacks Champion

The WPTDeepStacks tour has become a staple during the Seminole Hard Rock Lucky Hearts Poker Open series and this year it moved to the front of the schedule. After three starting days, two play down days, and a marathon final table, Scott Baumstein walked away with the WPTDeepStacks title for more than $220,000.

The $1,100 buy-in tournament featured a $1,000,000 Guarantee that was easily surpassed. It drew a huge crowd of 1,366 over three flights to push the prize pool up to $1,325,020. The field contained WSOP bracelet winners, WPT Champions Club Members, and local Seminole Hard Rock Poker regulars.

A total of 261 players survived to move on to Day 2 and some big names were still around including Michael “The Grinder” Mizrachi, Kathy Liebert, Jessica Dawley, Loni Harwood, and Wally Maddah. Tim Reilly was also in the mix but he would not earn the best result in his family.

His wife Ness Reilly was among the leaders for the latter parts of the tournament and she advanced to the final table on Day 3. She made it through after Mukul Pahuja and 2015 WSOP Main Event champ Joe McKeehen were knocked out in 11th and 10th setting up a tough final table for the WPTDeepStacks live-stream cameras.

The final table featured nine players with more than $4.7 million and tournament titles from around the world. Circuit regular Justin Harvell came into the last day with the chip lead but was unable to finish better than sixth place.

He was preceded by Michael Aron, Ness Rielly, and Ramon Harvell. 2017 SHRPO H.O.R.S.E. champion A.J. Kelsall put up a good fight but exited the final table in fifth place. Stephen Smith had one of the biggest rails at the final table but he could not win a race as Baumstein moved into the lead.

If Stephen Smith had the biggest group of supporters, Matthew Zarcadoolas had the loudest. The Hollywood, FL player came from behind several times to double up into contention. He put his chips in good once again but got unlucky against Baumstein to exit in third place.

The heads up match began with Baumstein holding a better than 2-to-1 chip advantage which he extended several times. Lumni Zhuta dropped down to 5 million (with 34 million in play) twice but was able to double back up before his third double put him into the lead.

The marathon heads up match finally came to an end after Baumstein rivered a straight to take most of the chips and it was over one hand later. He celebrated with his rail and enjoyed the moment of his win.

“Yeah, I was just trying to do my best to play small pots,” Baumstein said when asked about the long heads up match. “He seemed to want to gamble a little bit more, so I made sure to to adjust my strategy accordingly.”

“It’s fantistic,” Baumstein commented about playing at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Hollywood. “I actually just moved down here to Miami so this is sort of my home room now.”

“It feels great to come out and win a tournament here.”

Baumstein takes home $220,238 for the title along with a $3,000 WPTDeepStack Championship package, and the LHPO trophy.

Congratulations to Scott and everyone who scored big!

Final table results:

1st: Scott Baumstein – $220,238 + $3,000 WPTDeepStacks Championship Package
2nd: Lumni Zhuta – $155,126
3rd: Matthew Zarcadoolas – $100,579
4th: Stephen Smith – $74,579
5th: A.J. Kelsall – $56,239
6th: Justin Harvell – $45,398
7th: Ramon Miquel – $37,440
8th: Ness Rielly – $29,587
9th: Michael Aron – $22,025