After Finishing Second Two Days Ago, Anthony Barbera Redeems Himself with His First Trophy

2019 Rock ‘N’ Roll Poker Open
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
Hollywood, Florida
Event 13
$400 Six-Max NLH (Single Re-Entry)
Entries:  94
Prize Pool:  $31,960
November 26, 2019

Event 13 Champion Anthony Barbera
Event 13 Champion Anthony Barbera

Two days ago, Anthony Barbera got heads-up in Event #7 ($400 No Limit Hold’em), but finished second to Sheldon Gross. Today, he built up a massive chip lead at the final two tables, and cruised through the final table to finish as chipleader when the final three players agreed to a deal. As chipleader, Barbera was awarded the title and the trophy.

“It feels amazing,” said Barbera. “I love this place. I come here all the time. I never win, but this time I turned it around. Things seemed to go my way.”

When the seven-handed final table began, they were extremely deep, with an average stack worth 67 big blinds. Barbera had nearly twice as much as anyone else with 178 big blinds.

Three-handed play went on for about an hour, with short stack Howard Mash repeatedly doubling up to keep it going. Eventually, the final three players agreed to a deal when Mash and Jesse Lonis were fairly close in chips, but still well behind Barbera.

It’s the first trophy for Barbera. “I’m going to show it to my mom. She’s like, ‘Are you sure you’re winning?'”

When asked about the casino, Barbera said, “This is one of the best tournament scenes in the nation, and I live right by here. It’s a blessing and a curse. I’m excited to come back and play some more.”

Now that he’s won his first trophy, does Barbera plan to play in the Rock ‘N’ Roll Poker Open Championship that starts on Friday?

“Maybe,” said Barbera. “It’s been a good week. I’ll probably come back tomorrow and play some satellites.”

Final Results:

1st:  Anthony Barbera  –  $7,260 + RRPO Trophy
2nd:  Howard Mash  –  $5,734
3rd:  Jesse Lonis  –  $5,656
4th:  Scott Baumstein  –  $2,670
5th:  Jacquelyn Scott  –  $1,895
6th:  David Nowling  –  $1,395
7th:  James Kerr  –  $1,060
8th:  Matthew Zarcadoolas  –  $1,060
9th:  Aaron Berman  –  $835
10th:  Daniel Blum  –  $835
11th:  James Joyner IV  –  $685
12th:  George Grabe  –  $685
13th:  Fabian Gumz  –  $580
14th:  Sharon Bachar  –  $580
15th:  Claudangelo Beaudouin  –  $515
16th:  Eliyahu Levy  –  $515