Event 2: Harry Eisenberg Wins Outright for His Second Seminole Hard Rock Poker Trophy

2019 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino 
Hollywood, Florida
Event 2
$360 Limit Omaha 8 (Re-Entry)
Entries: 67

Prize Pool: $20,100
April 4, 2019

Harry Eisenberg wins Event 2 for his second SHRP trophy

Harry Eisenberg has a knack for making final tables in mixed events during the big Seminole Hard Rock Poker series. Including today’s, Eisenberg had made 10 final tables in non-hold’em tournaments at the Seminole Hard Rock over the years.

The 74-year-old Eisenberg won his first SHRP trophy in the $300 H.O.R.S.E at the 2018 Lucky Hearts Poker Open, and now he has a second to add to his mantle. Eisenberg topped a field of 67 entries to win the $360 Limit Omaha 8 outright.

Eisenberg’s second trophy win almost didn’t happen, though. His first shot in the event was a swing and a miss. However, thanks to rush hour traffic, Eisenberg stuck around and hit it out of the park.

“I had no good hands in my first buy-in. I was going to leave and not buy in again, but I’m thinking I’ve got to fight traffic, it’s 4:00, so I said what the heck.”

Eisenberg gave it a second go, and needless to say things went much better.

“As cold as I was with the first buy-in, I got just as hot with the second.”

Eisenberg entered the final table as the chip leader and maintained it all the way up until three players remained. It was there that Phil Hui, winner of two SHRP mixed-game trophies, had seized the lead.

Hui eliminated Stephen Reid in third place and began heads-up play against Eisenberg with a slight chip lead. However, the heads-up battle went Eisenberg’s way and he emerged victoriously.

“I’ve played Omaha 8 all my life, so I think I’m competent at it. Going up against Phil, who is a super player, just makes it so satisfying to get the win against that good of a player.”

1st: Harry Eisenberg – $7,034 + Showdown trophy
2nd: Phil Hui – $4,020
3rd: Stephen Reid – $2,462
4th: Donny Rubinstein – $1,759
5th: Robert Mangino – $1,357
6th: Vasu Amarapu – $1,055
7th: Hoyt Verner – $905
8th: Cory Zeidman – $804
9th: Monte Adler – $704